Strider

Take a deep breath, enjoy the view, walk a few miles in a bizarre landscape that was left behind by the gravel mines surrounding our village – that’s what I enjoy every day. “Strider” is a scarf that… Read More

Strickmich! Club 2019: Skudderia

So here she is, the fourth yarnie for Strickmich! Club 2019: Maike Schnichels and her yarn collection “Skudderia”. Skudde is the name of a rare middle European sheep breed, and Maike happens to have five of them grazing… Read More

Designing – III

My Design Process – Part III Knit (this time for real). I know that many designers let others knit their samples to save time – but that’s one thing I would never do! I just love knitting my own designs…. Read More

Designing – II

My Design Process – Part II Swatch (if required). Yes, sure, you have heard it before: Swatching is a necessary prerequisite for knitting and designing. That said, I have to admit that for my shawlette designs, I rarely… Read More

Designing – I

So what does the design process look like? I am sure that every knitwear designer has a different answer to this one. So here is what works for me: The Idea. There are different sources of inspiration. Sometimes… Read More

Strider

Durchatmen, weit gucken, ein paar Kilometer gehen in einer bizarren Landschaft, die der Kiesabbau rund um unser Dorf hinterlassen hat – das brauche und genieße ich jeden Tag. „Strider“ ist ein Schal, der mir dabei gute Dienste leistet:… Read More

Strickmich! Club 2019: Skudderia

Und hier ist sie, die vierte Garnlieferantin für den Strickmich! Club 2019: Maike Schnichels mit ihrer Garnkollektion „Skudderia“. Skudden heißen nämlich die kleinen Schafe, die Maike bei ihrer Werkstatt in der Nähe von Frankfurt hält – aus ganz praktischen… Read More

Designing – III

Teil III des kleinen Einblicks in meine Designwerkstatt Stricken (so richtig). Ich weiß, dass viele Designerinnen den Prozess des Modell-Strickens aus Zeitgründen an andere abgeben – aber das würde ich nie tun. Ich finde es großartig, meine Designs selbst… Read More

Designing – II

Teil II des kleinen Einblicks in meine Designwerkstatt. Maschenprobe (wenn nötig). Wenn ich ein Garn benutze, das ich noch nicht kenne oder wenn ich ein Stück designe, das passen muss (Mützen, Handschuhe, Socken), steht an dieser Stelle die… Read More

Designing – I

Wie geht das eigentlich, Strickdesign? Darauf gibt es ganz bestimmt genau so viele Antworten wie es Designerinnen auf diesem Planeten gibt. In den kommenden Tagen werde ich einen kleinen Einblick in meine Arbeitsweise geben. Hier ist Teil I,… Read More